Rafael Manzano Prize for New Traditional Architecture

10th EDITION – YEAR 2021

The Rafael Manzano Prize for New Traditional Architecture is awarded to a living individual whose work embodies the principles of traditional and classical architecture and urbanism in contemporary society. The body of work by the chosen laureate will be seen not only to preserve and rehabilitate the heritage of historic and traditional sites and structures in Spain and Portugal, but also to contribute to the continuity of the building and architectural traditions which shape it.

The Prize is named in honor of the body of work by architect Rafael Manzano Martos, whose life work is dedicated to the preservation of architectural heritage both through its restoration and through designing new structures drawing on that heritage.

The 2021 Rafael Manzano Prize for New Traditional Architecture is organized by INTBAU, which works under the patronage of its founder, HRH The Prince of Wales, to promote traditional building, architecture and urbanism. The Prize is organized thanks to the support of the Richard H. Driehaus Charitable Lead Trust through a contribution to the Chicago Community Foundation for the Richard H. Driehaus Charitable Fund, and the EKABA Foundation, with the collaboration of the Real Academia de Bellas Artes de San Fernando (Madrid), the Fundaçao Serra Henriques and Hispania Nostra.


Open to all active practitioners who have developed their profession in Spain or Portugal for at least ten years.


The award selection will be based on the contribution that the applicant has made in the field of architecture and urbanism while respecting their traditional principles in the restoration of monuments, public spaces, and urban settings of historic and artistic value; or in the creation of harmoniously integrated new structures and public spaces based on local traditions.


The award may be granted for a particular work or based on the assessment of multiple works carried out over a professional life.


Candidates must submit, by 23 March 2021, the following documentation:

  • A written professional biography of 250 words in English and in Spanish or Portuguese.
  • Justification of no more than one-page, in Spanish or Portuguese and in English, summarizing the reasons why the nominee should receive the award.
  • No more than ten images in digital format (jpg or tiff, 300dpi) for each project submitted with a limit of five projects per candidate. These images should include pictures, plans and drawings of the submitted projects. A brief explanation, in English and in Spanish or Portuguese, may accompany each project totaling no more than 250 words per explanation.


Prior applicants may be considered for the 2021 Award by submitting a written request. Candidates may update their submittals with additional images and documentation.


The Jury will be composed of personalities from the world of Architecture and Fine Arts.


The award will be presented at the Real Academia de Bellas Artes de San Fernando in Madrid.

All documentation, including personal data, will be treated with absolute confidentiality.
This documentation must be submitted electronically to: convocatoria@premioarquitectura.com
or to the following address along with one memory stick:
Calle de Alcalá, 13. 28014 Madrid
Tel.: 91 416 68 38